Scotland confirm 26-man squad for Euro 2020

19 May 2021 02:24

Scotland have revealed their squad for Euro 2020, with Chelsea youngster Billy Gilmour among those included.

Steve Clarke has not selected Gilmour before, but the talented midfielder has made the cut alongside fellow young guns David Turnbull and Nathan Patterson.

These exciting talents join a squad that Clarke will be hoping can surprise a few people this summer. In Liverpool's Andy Robertson and Arsenal's Kieran Tierney, they possess two top defenders. Manchester United midfielder Scott McTominay - who is usually used as a defender - also has experience at the top level.

One of the big decisions Clarke had to make was which strikers to take to the tournament. Che Adams emergence as the team's main striker during the last international break threw a spanner in the works. In the end Lyndon Dykes and Hibernian striker Kevin Nisbet got the nod over the likes of Leigh Griffiths and Lawrence Shankland.

Scotland are playing at their first major tournament since the 1998 World Cup. Back then they faced England in the group stages and they pair will reconvene rivalries this time out in Group D, alongside the Czech Republic and Croatia.

26-player Scotland squad for Euro 2020

Scotland secured their place in the competition with a penalty win over Sebia | Srdjan Stevanovic/Getty Images

Goalkeepers: Craig Gordon (Heart of Midlothian), David Marshall (Derby County), Jon McLaughlin (Rangers)

Defenders: Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Jack Hendry (KV Oostende)

Midfielders: Billy Gilmour (Chelsea), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), John McGinn (Aston Villa), John Fleck (Sheffield United), David Turnbull (Celtic)

Forwards: James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Christie (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United), Lyndon Dykes (Queens Park Rangers), Che Adams (Southampton), Kevin Nisbet (Hibernian)

Source: 90min