Scotland v Ireland: Six Nations Match Preview

22 February 2013 03:08

Ireland are likely to start favourites for their week three Six Nations match with Scotland at Murrayfield on Sunday 24th February 2013. There has barely been anything to choose between the two sides in recent Six Nations encounters though and the handicap betting could prove interesting.

Ireland go into this year's match looking to bounce back following defeat to England last time out, while Scotland will be full of confidence after they destroyed Italy in their previous outing.

Ireland prop Cian Healy will miss two Six Nations games after being banned until 10 March for stamping on Dan Cole in Sunday's defeat by England.

Healy was cited for the stamp during a ruck in England's 12-6 win in Dublin and he is suspended for the matches against Scotland and France.

The Leinster man appeared before the tournament's disciplinary committee in London on Wednesday.

The loose-head was found guilty of "stamping or trampling on an opponent".

Healy escaped without a yellow or red card from referee Jerome Garces during the match, but the front-rower was cited by citing commissioner Alberto Recaldini of Italy.

Last Year Ireland overpowered Scotland at the Aviva Stadium as the Scots fell to a fourth successive defeat in the tournament. Scotland had briefly threatened an upset when they went 6-0 ahead early on, but Ireland hit back to lead 22-14 at half-time, with an Andrew Trimble try just before the interval knocking the stuffing out of Scotland.

Ireland added ten unanswered points in the second half to secure a comfortable victory. The Irish will be looking for a similar result after their defeat to England last weekend.

Ireland training squad: Rory Best, Darren Cave, Tom Court, Sean Cronin, James Coughlan, Keith Earls, Luke Fitzgerald, Declan Fitzpatrick, Craig Gilroy, Robin Henshaw, Jamie Heaslip, Ian Henderson, Chris Henry, Paddy Jackson, Rob Kearney, David Kilcoyne, Luke Marshall, Fergus McFadden, Conor Murray, Sean O'Brien, Donncha O'Callaghan, Brian O'Driscoll, Ronan O'Gara, Peter O'Mahony, Eoin Reddan, Mike Ross, Donnacha Ryan, Lewis Stevenson, Devin Toner

Source: DSG