Evans spearheads Australian road cycling team

25 June 2012 09:47

Tour de France champion Cadel Evans leads a strong Australia road cycling team named on Monday for next month's London Olympics.

The men's team also features sprint superstar Matt Goss, 2012 Milan-San Remo Classic winner Simon Gerrans, triple individual time trial world champion Michael Rogers and Stuart O'Grady, who will join an elite club of six-time Olympians.

Australia will have a three-pronged attack in the women's road race from Shara Gillow, Chloe Hosking and Amanda Spratt.

The three debutantes will look to replicate the achievement of Sara Carrigan, who won road race gold at the 2004 Athens Olympics.

The men's road race will be staged on the first day of Olympic competition on July 28 and will be followed by the women's road race on July 29.

Australia has also qualified two men's and one women's starting places in the time trials in London.

"This has been one of the most difficult team selections in Australia's cycling history because we really have enough talent to field two teams of Olympic standard," Australian professional men's coordinator and Athens Olympian Matt White said.

"We have more than 30 Aussie riders in the ProTour and they're major contributors to their respective teams.

"It's a great position to be in and we're really pleased with the riders we'll be putting on the start line."

Australia - Men: Cadel Evans, Simon Gerrans, Matt Goss, Stuart O'Grady, Michael Rogers. Women: Shara Gillow, Chloe Hosking, Amanda Spratt.