PFA Fans Player of the Year winners

15 June 2012 10:44
Winners for PFA Fans’ Players’ Award announced

The voting for the 2011/12 PFA Fans’ Player of the Year Awards has finished and the names of the winning players, as compiled by the PFA’s digital media partner - Digital Sports Group (DSG), have been released;

Barclays Premier League

Robin Van Persie – Arsenal

Gordon Taylor OBE, Chief Executive of the Professional Footballers' Association of England and Wales and Honorary President of FIFPro said;

“Had an exceptional season, voted by both the players and Football Writers as their Player of the Year which no-one could really argue with. Bought from Feyenoord for £2.75million, he has established himself in the mould of previous top quality Dutch strikers such as Dennis Bergkamp, Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Marco Van Basten and is a credit to Holland for such a small country that they continue to produce such marvellous strikers. He is very much in demand and Arsenal fans will be worrying whether Arsenal can get him to stay or whether he will move on to the likes of Manchester City. Many of his goals were the best of not just this season but any season, when you think of the quality of some of his volleys. He really has been a talisman for Arsenal and as Captain has lifted them into qualifying for the Champions League again when all looked lost. It was great to meet him at our Awards Dinner and he presented himself really well. He clearly has a good relationship with Arsene Wenger and it will be crucial to Arsenal’s future as to whether he stays or goes.”

nPower Football League Championship

Jay Rodriguez – Burnley

Gordon Taylor OBE said; “Burnley born, he had some limited experience in their time in the Premier League but has really come good for the club. He has been a highlight of the season that at times promised more for the club than they eventually delivered but he has certainly started to achieve his potential and I have no doubt that he will be a leading light for many years to come. Top scorer last season and this season Burnley have received an offer of £7M from Southampton for his transfer.”

nPower Football League One

Jose Semedo – Sheffield Wednesday

Gordon Taylor OBE said; “From a great background coming from Portugal where he gained International experience at Under-21 level and performed with distinction for Charlton Athletic F.C. showing great versatility playing right back, central defence or central defensive midfield. He was crowned Charlton Athletic’s Player of the Year in 2011 before joining Sheffield Wednesday and has been a key factor in their promotion winning season as well as being voted their Player of the Year.”

nPower Football League Two

Lewis Grabban – Rotherham United

Gordon Taylor OBE said; “Crystal Palace apprentice with experience at Millwall and Brentford. He has shown himself to be a very versatile player either as a striker or attacking midfield player. Scored 21 goals for Rotherham United before signing for AFC Bournemouth for £300,000 – a much travelled but gifted player and scorer.”

These awards were launched in 2001 as an enhancement to the PFA Players’ Player Awards and give a strong voice to the supporters who, as well as players, are the lifeblood of the game. The awards are endorsed by the players and supported by the Premiership, Championship, League One and League Two clubs and are an indication that the relationship between players and supporters is remains as strong as ever. The PFA also considers it important not to forget the importance of players throughout all the divisions, and for that reason it was decided to have a player award for each division.

Furthermore for four chosen fans, who voted for one of the divisional winners, there is the bonus of a unique prize package. This package includes, a VIP trip to a home match of the winning player’s team, presenting the award to the winning player on the pitch and receiving a framed, signed photo with a presentation certificate commemorating the event. All in all, a prize package which cannot be matched.

Simon Boynton, Managing Director - DSG, said; ‘There has been a tremendous response to our poll and the unique open nature of this vote has allowed for the fans’ true voice to be heard. Each one of the winners has made a significant contribution to their team during the season and it is clear that their efforts have been truly appreciated by the fans. Next season will see the reappearance of the monthly fans awards giving everyone who follows the game further opportunities to show support for their favourite players.’