Degenkolb Wins Munsterland Giro

By 03 October 2016 03:59

John Degenkolb of Giant Alpecin has won the Munsterland Giro.

A 225km race from Gronau to Munster with three local laps at the end attracted a strong field and World Tour Teams such as Dimension Data and Lotto Soudal.

Six riders formed the break and were seven minutes clear after seventy kilometres of racing.

Halfway through the race and the gap was down to 6.20 and the same going into the final one hundred kilometres.

The break stayed away until there was twenty kilometres to go and everyone was together for the three closing laps around Munster.

Onto the final lap and Etixx Quick Step, Dimension Data and Bora Argon 18 were controlling the peloton of about twenty riders.

It came down to a sprint and John Degenkolb of Giant Alpecin took the win in 4.50.52 ahead of Roy Jans of Wanty Group, Pescl Ackermann of Radnet, Matteo Trentin of Etixx Quick Step and Dion Smith of ONE Pro Cycling.

Source: DSG