Blanco's Theo Bos wins second stage of Ster ZLM Toer in Holland

By Kev Monks (featured-columnist) 13 Jun 2013 15:21:00



Steven Lammertink (CJP), Rens te Stroet (CJP), Bart van Haaren (KOG), Jurrien Boster (MET) and Dries Hollanders (MET) escaped early on the 175.7km stage which started and finished in Breda.

The other 133 riders had let them get 3.30 clear when Steven Lammertink took the first intermediate points sprint of the day.

The Bergsprint came on the viaduct over the A16 in Moerdijk and saw Lammertink pushed into second by Rens te Stroet. However at the second intermediate point sprint, Lammertink was back to winning ways.

The peloton had split into three groups but they were now only 35 seconds down on a wet day.

The escapers were caught and the expected bunch sprint happened but what was not expected was that Mark Cavendish finished third, beaten by firstly Blanco's Theo Bos and secondly Lotto Belisol's Andre Greipel.

Robert Wagner keeps his lead in the race going into the third stage.

Mark Cavendish will compete in the British Road championships in ten days time.

The Omega Pharma Quick Step rider, who has over one hundred stage victories including twenty three at the Tour De France will try to take honour of being British Champion away from Team Sky who have have had Geraint Thomas, Sir Bradley Wiggins and Ian Stannard all win the Elite Mens Road race to be able to wear the red, white and blue hooped jersey in races all over the world.

Glasgow Green is the setting this year for the Elite Mens Road race on June 23rd.

The city centre course will host the the women’s race, which will see the likes of Lizzie Armitstead competing from 9:30am until the finish at 12:30pm.

The men’s race will start at 1:30pm and finish at approximately 5:30pm.

Highlights of the British Cycling National Road Championships will be broadcast on ITV4 on Monday 24 June at 7pm.


Related Sport News


Top trending sports stories

Writer stream